A Step by Step Guide on How to Get CCA-N: Citrix Certified Associate – Networking Certification


Overview of CCA-N: Citrix Certified Associate – Networking Certification

Citrix is a leader in mobile workspace solutions for businesses and enterprises worldwide. Citrix solutions allow employees in different locations to connect and collaborate in real-time. Users can choose the ideal time and place for their work and gain instant access to secure business information over any network.

The Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N) credential is designed for network and system administrators and validates the knowledge and skills needed to implement and manage Citrix NetScaler 10 for app and desktop virtualization solutions in an enterprise environment.

Citrix training proves you have the skills required to implement and manage Citrix solutions that power business mobility. New Horizons offers Citrix training courses and certifications at the associate, professional and expert level.

Designed for Network Gateway architects, engineers and administrators, the Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N) certification validates the knowledge and skills needed to administer and manage Citrix NetScaler in enterprise environments for secure remote access to desktops, applications, and data.

This certification is ideal if you have App and Desktop virtualization experience and want to expand your skills to include NetScaler for app and desktop solutions. Citrix certifications(1) are solutions-based to reflect the needs of organizations and IT professionals.

The three main Citrix certification topic areas are Desktop Virtualization, Networking and Enterprise Mobility Management. Citrix also offers credentials for Enterprise File Synchronization and Sharing. Last, but not least, Citrix Cloud certifications were introduced in 2018.

Is This Training Right for You?

Comprehensive Citrix training from New Horizons Computer Learning Centers benefits IT professionals in various fields, including:

  • Web designers and developers
  • System administrators
  • Citrix engineers
  • Citrix systems managers
  • Business analysts
  • Cloud, infrastructure, and virtualization architects
  • Mobile designers
  • Network operations manager

Citrix training will help you get the skills to:

  • Understand and configure the most popular Citrix technologies, including Virtual Apps and Desktop, Hypervisor and ACD
  • Implement and maintain server, application and desktop virtualization
  • Manage cloud computing technologies, including open source products

Recommended Articles ;

Learn How to Become a Network Administrator

How to Get Cloudera Spark and Hadoop Developer Certification

A Step by Step Guide on How to Get a CCP-V: Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization Certification

What are the Levels or Modules in This Certification?

Within the virtualization, networking and mobility certification topic areas, Citrix credentials are available at associate, professional and expert levels. These levels reflect the skills, knowledge and experience required of professionals who earn such Citrix certifications. Here’s a summary of current certifications available from Citrix:

  • Citrix Certified Associate – Virtualization (CCA-V)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization (CCP-V)
  • Citrix Certified Expert – Virtualization (CCE-V)
  • Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Networking (CCP-N)
  • Citrix NetScaler SD-WAN Certified (CC-SDWAN)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Mobility (CCP-M)
  • Citrix ShareFile Certified (CC-SHAREFILE)
  • XenApp and XenDesktop Service on Citrix Cloud Certified (CC-XAD-CC)
  • XenApp and XenDesktop Service Integration with Microsoft Azure Certified (CC-XAD-MA)

What are the Eligibility Criteria for the Certification?

If you’re a network or systems administrator who is an expert in app and desktop virtualization, and you want to expand your expertise to include NetScaler Gateway 12 for data, app and desktop solutions, the Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N)(2) certification is for you. Training is for administrators who have limited or no previous NetScaler experience.

Though there are no formal prerequisites for the CCA-N, it is an intermediate-level certification for which learners should have a basic knowledge of:

  • The OSI model
  • Networking (including application and network protocols, devices, and commonly used tools)
  • Network management and auditing protocols
  • Command-line interfaces
  • Basic routing and Layer 2 switching concepts; and
  • XenDesktop, XenApp, XenMobile web servers, and file servers.

Learners should have 1-3 years of experience working in networking and/or experience working directly with Citrix products prior to attempting the CCA-N. You must pass either the Citrix NetScaler 12 Essentials and Unified Gateway (1Y0-230) or Citrix NetScaler 12 Essentials and Traffic Management (1Y0-240) exam to earn the credential.

Exam 1Y0-230 targets basic networking, Unified Gateway (including configuration), integration, managing client connections, load balancing, NetScaler platforms, AppExpert Expressions and policies, SSL offload, authentication and security. Exam 1Y0-240 covers basic networking, NetScaler platforms, high availability, load balancing, SSL offing, security, troubleshooting, default policies, URL transformation, switching, optimization and load balancing for global servers.


Required Exams

Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N) Citrix NetScaler 12 Essentials and Unified Gateway (1Y0-230) OR Citrix NetScaler 12 Essentials and Traffic Management (1Y0-240)

Job Prospects after the Certification

Candidates interested in a Citrix networking career should first obtain the CCA-N credential. From there, candidates will move to the CCP-N (which takes the CCA-N as a prerequisite). Candidates interested in pursuing a career path in NetScaler SD-WAN should pursue the CC-SDWAN credential. All networking credentials are valid for three years, after which you must recertify by passing the then-current exam or attending an instructor-led training course.

Also Read:  Top Paying IT Certifications 

Certification Process for this Certification

Exam Details

  • Exam 1Y0-253
  • Time allotted for exams: 130 minutes
  • Number of questions: 65
  • Question types: Multiple choice; drag and drop; simulation; decision tree
  • Passing score: 64%
  • Exam registration: Pearson Vue
  • Exam cost: $200

CCA-N certifications are valid for three years from the date of certification. To recertify, learners must pass the most current version of the exam.

Salaries for this Certification

Simplyhired.com(3)/ provides a helpful salary guide to help learners determine appropriate pay scales for job opportunities associated with the CCA-N. Depending on professional experience, an employee who holds a CCA-N certification can earn on average $43,000 a year. Payscale.com(4)/ reports a range of salaries for employees holding any Citrix certification between $62,977 and $114,650.

However, it should be noted that the low end of the range reported by Payscale.com likely represents more advanced professionals and learners should expect beginning salaries in the mid-$40,000 range. Roles that are common for those holding a CCA-N certification include network administrator, senior systems analyst, Citrix administrator, systems administrator, systems engineer, senior technical consultant, and more.

Where to Get Online Resources

Several platforms like Global Knowledge, Pearson Vue, Simpli Learn, Udemy, and the websites for Citrix offer several reading materials, practice guides, and other materials for preparing for the exam.