A Step by Step Guide on How to Get a CCP-V: Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization Certification

CCP-V Certification

Overview of CCP-V: Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization Certification

Citrix works with various cloud computing solutions that offer mobility, desktop virtualization, cloud networking, cloud platforms, collaboration, and data sharing. This enables users to develop remote working from any device without compromising the security of the data that they’re working on.

Citrix develops products that can be divided into five broad segments

  • Digital workspaces with the remote access that guarantee high levels of security
  • Mobile app virtualization and VDI
  • Enterprise Mobility Management (EMM)
  • File Sync and sharing
  • Networking

Citrix’s most used products include XenApp, XenDesktop, XenMobile, NetScaler, and ShareFile. Business Daily estimates that Citrix’s XenApp and XenDesktop products invite more than 400000 enterprises and more than 100 million users globally. From humble beginnings in 1989, Citrix today offers numerous professional certifications that have global recognition and validity.

Citrix Certification Program Overview

All certifications that Citrix offer are more than concept-based. They reflect the solutions that the enterprises need and those that IT professionals recognize as the most important. Citrix offers certifications that are centered around topics of Desktop Virtualization, Networking, and Enterprise Mobility Management. Apart from these, it also offers certifications in the five types of products that it offers. So, Citrix offers certifications in Enterprise File Synchronization and Sharing.

Citrix offers its services at different levels within virtualization, networking, and mobility. These can typically be divided into Associate, Professional, and Expert levels. Each of these levels denotes a certain mastery of knowledge and is a testimony of different levels of experience. This is because each level requires a different level of experience for each type of certification that Citrix offers. All associate levels cost around $200, while most professional and expert level exams cost about $300.

Here’s a summary of current certifications available from Citrix:

  • Citrix Certified Associate – Virtualization (CCA-V)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization (CCP-V)
  • Citrix Certified Expert – Virtualization (CCE-V)
  • Citrix Certified Associate – Networking (CCA-N)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Networking (CCP-N)
  • Citrix NetScaler SD-WAN Certified (CC-SDWAN)
  • Citrix Certified Professional – Mobility (CCP-M)
  • Citrix ShareFile Certified (CC-SHAREFILE)
  • XenApp and XenDesktop Service on Citrix Cloud Certified (CC-XAD-CC)
  • XenApp and XenDesktop Service Integration with Microsoft Azure Certified (CC-XAD-MA)

Also Read:

A Step by Step Guide on How to Get CCA-N: Citrix Certified Associate – Networking Certification

About Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization

Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization, commonly abbreviated as CCP-V, is a certification for engineers, consultants to manage and support complex XenApp and XenDesktop 7.15 provisioning environments and solutions. To earn the CCP-V certification, you must have attained CCA-V certification and pass exam 1Y0-311.

The Citrix XenApp and XenDesktop 7.15 LTSR Advanced Administrator exam covers 14 topics, including advanced architecture, Virtual Desktop Agents (VDA), HDX, and multimedia, provisioning (infrastructure, services, integrating and supporting), layering, vDisk streaming and more. In other words, the CCP-V certification validates the skills experienced IT solution builders, such as engineers and consultants, need to manage and support complex environments based on XenApp and XenDesktop with Provisioning Services.

Also Read:  Top Paying IT Certifications 

Certification and Recertification

Recommended Training

1y0-311- Citrix XenApp and XenDesktop 7.15 Advanced Administration

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7 Advanced Administration (CWS-315) or Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7, App Layering, and WEM Administration (Fast-Track) (CMB-318) and Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7 Backup, Recovery, Security and Troubleshooting (CWS-313)

You should recertify your Citrix certifications promptly before they lapse. For recertification of the CCP-V, you can choose one of the following options below. To qualify for either option, you must hold a current and valid Citrix certification. Expired certifications are not eligible.

Successfully complete the training course Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7 Advanced Administration (CWS-315) or Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7, App Layering, and WEM Administration (Fast-Track) (CMB-318) and Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7 Advanced Deployment, Troubleshooting, Security and Administration (CWS-313)

Earn a passing score on the most recent version of the 1y0-311- Citrix XenApp and XenDesktop 7.15 Advanced Administration exam

Benefits of This Certification:

The benefits of CWS-415 are

Expert-level certification: If you want to advance beyond Citrix Certified Professional – Virtualization (CCP-V), completing this course will prepare you to take the updated exam for Citrix Certified Expert – Virtualization (CCE-V).

Higher compensation: If you’re looking for more money, you should know that the CCE-V is one of the highest-paying certifications in North America, according to the 2019 Global Knowledge IT Skills and Salary Report. The average salary is nearly $126,000.

Professional recognition: Maybe you’d like more recognition from peers and management. By completing the CWS-415 course and passing the CCE-V exam, you’ll join an elite group of Citrix virtualization experts with exceptional skills in infrastructure design and assessment.

Cloud knowledge: If you’re planning to transition from an on-prem Citrix environment to the cloud, the CWS-415 course can help you. Compared to the previous CXD-410 course, this new training features more cloud information.

Certification renewal: If you already hold the CCE-V, you can renew it without sitting for the exam. Just complete the CWS-415 course successfully.

About the Exam

The test is 90 minutes long, costs $300, and includes multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, simulations, and decision trees. The test covers the following topics:

  • Intermediate FlexCast Management Architecture (FMA)
  • Workspace Environment Management (WEM)
  • The Virtual Desktop Agent (VDA)
  • App Layering
  • User Environment
  • StoreFront Optimization and Routing
  • HDX and Multimedia
  • Supporting and Troubleshooting User connection issues
  • Provisioning Services Infrastructure
  • Streaming the vDisk
  • Target Devices
  • Integrating Provisioning Services with XenApp and XenDesktop
  • Advanced Architecture
  • Supporting Provisioning Services

Professionals with the CCP-V credential make a median income of $83,166, and salaries for top positions can be higher than $115,000.

Where to Get Online Resources for this Certification?

Citrix’s certification website offers students with the required study material, preparatory guides, classroom training, dates, schedules, and bookings for the exam as well. Apart from this, there are several other trainers such as Simpli Learn, Global Knowledge, Plural Sight etc. that offer the required material for preparing for the exam.